Which Country Won Most 50 Over Cricket World Cups?

which country won most 50 over cricket world cups
which country won most 50 over cricket world cups

Cricket is one of the most favorite sports for all people across the world. In a cricket match, there are different types of games such as test matches, 20-20 test series, one-day matches, world cup tournaments, etc. The men’s Cricket World Cup is an international cricket competition first played in 1975. The cricket world cup tournament is played by the men’s national team members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), the sport’s global governing body. The tournament only takes place every four years.

So, here comes the topic details and that is which country won most 50 over cricket world cups.

The 2019 Cricket World Cup, which England and Wales hosted, was won by England, which defeated New Zealand. The current trophy was instituted in 1999. The trophy always remains with the ICC, and a replica of the trophy is awarded to the winning team.

The first-ever World Cup took place in England in June 1975, with the first ODI cricket match that was played only four years prior. However, a separate Women’s Cricket World Cup had been organized two years before the first men’s tournament, and a contest having multiple international teams had been held as early as 1912, when a game of Test matches was played between teams of Australia, England, and South Africa.

The first three World Cups were held only in England. From the 1987 tournament onwards, the hosting of the matches has been shared between countries under a rotation system, with fourteen ICC members having hosted at least one game in the tournament.

Now let us see,

which country won most 50 over cricket world cups

Which Country Won Most 50 Overs Cricket World Cups

The ICC World Cup is the most awaited tournament in cricket. Cricket Fans enjoy the world cup tournament as they witness the top cricketing stars play against each other. Over time, some unique records have been made in the tournament. Australia won most 50 over cricket world cups in the competition’s history, winning five tournaments and
finishing as a runner-up twice. Since 1975, there are only 12 world cup tournaments conducted to date. In the tournament, Australia is the only country that has won the 5 world cups. Australia became the first cricket team to win three world cup Tournaments in 2007

After Australia, two countries won the world cup tournament only two times each. They are India in 1983 & 2011 and West Indies in 1975 & 1979. Twice, teams have won successive tournaments: the West Indies won the first two editions (1975 and 1979), and Australia won three matches in a row (1999, 2003, and 2007). Australia is the only team that has played in the most finals that are seven out of Twelve. In 1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007 and in 2015.

England is the team to reach the final and but couldn’t win the World Cup and most often ending as a runner-up in all three final matches before their victory in the 2019 tournament. Out of The twenty teams which qualified for at least one cricket World Cup, only seven have appeared in the world cup tournament finals. Seven venues have hosted the final; only two of those at Lord’s, in London, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground – have hosted various final matches. India happens to be the only country that has hosted a World Cup final in more than one venue, with Eden Gardens in Kolkata hosting in 1987 and Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium hosting the match in 2011.

The first-ever World Cup final was a thrilling experience for the players and the audience, involving some of the leading Test cricketers of the age adapting their skills to the brave new world of one-day cricket.

Clive Lloyd’s and Viv Richards’ spectacular fielding were the best but the Australians more than played their part in a
historic occasion.

A last-wicket stand between Jeff Thomson and Dennis Lillee kept Aussie hopes alive right into the last over before Deryck Murray managed to run out Thomson to unleash thousands of West Indian audiences.

” It was a perfect day for cricket,” said Australian captain Ian Chappell. ” The two best teams got into the final, and it was such an excellent game. I certainly thought after that the World Cup was here to stay.”

Countries such as India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka hosted the tournament in the year 1996. It was Sri Lanka’s first match in the final, and they played with 1987 champions Australia on another day. After winning the toss, Arjuna Ranatunga sent Australia to bat at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Captain Mark Taylor and Ricky Ponting added 101 in their second-wicket partnership as Australia completed their 50 overs with 241/7.

Man of the match Aravinda de Silva’s century, assisted by his team player Asanka Gurusinha and Ranatunga, which led Sri Lanka to the target with 22 balls and 7 wickets, and their first Win in the final. This was the first time a host has ever won the title, and the final was played in Pakistan. It was also the first time that the team batting second won the match.

In 2015 final, which was organized at the Melbourne Ground, was won by hosts Australia. Australian fast bowlers ripped the New Zealand team, with Mitchell Starc bowling Brendon McCullum out for a duck and Mitchell Johnson, took three wickets. Despite the efforts of Grant Elliot, New Zealand were bowled out for 183. Steven Smith and Michael Clarke took half- centuries as the Australian team won their fifth World Cup.


The correct answer is Australia. Australia has won the most 50 over Cricket World Cups. Australia is the only country that won 5 World Cups. I hope now you know which country won the most 50 over cricket world cups.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts