What Is King Pair In Cricket? [Explained Briefly]

What Is King Pair In Cricket
What Is King Pair In Cricket

When a batsman is removed as a Duck (Zero) in both innings, it is referred to as a Pair. However, when a batsman is removed in the first ball of both innings (Golden ducks), it is referred to as a King Pair.

The first player to be removed as King Pair was English cricketer William Attewell. The record of King Pair in cricket is now held by 22 players, including all-time great cricketers such as Virender Sehwag and Adam Gilchrist.

Complete List Of King Pair In Test Cricket

While players like William Attewel and James Anderson have received it from the England camp in the past, other well-known cricketers who have received it include Adam Gilchrist, Virender Sehwag, and Ajit Agarkar. Sam Curran is the game’s 22nd player to secure a King Pair.

Here is the list of complete 22 players who are king pair in test cricket:

Player Country Match Ground Innings Ducks Pairs
Attewell, W England 29/01/1892 v. Australia Sydney Cricket Ground 15 4 1
Hayes, E G England 24/03/1906 v. South Africa Newlands 9 2 1
Vogler, A E E South Africa 09/12/1910 v. Australia Sydney Cricket Ground 26 4 1
Ward, T A South Africa 27/05/1912 v. Australia Old Trafford 42 5 1
Crisp, R J South Africa 28/02/1936 v. Australia Kingsmead 13 5 2
Colquhoun, I A New Zealand 25/03/1955 v. England Eden Park 4 2 1
Wesley, C South Africa 07/07/1960 v. England Trent Bridge 5 2 1
Chandrasekhar, B S India 30/12/1977 v. Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground 80 23 4
Troup, G B New Zealand 21/02/1981 v. India Basin Reserve 18 7 1
Richardson, D J South Africa 19/01/1995 v. Pakistan Wanderers Stadium 64 7 1
Huckle, A G Zimbabwe 21/03/1998 v. Pakistan Harare Sports Club 14 7 2
Agarkar, A B India 26/12/1999 v. Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground 39 9 3
Gilchrist, A C Australia 11/03/2001 v. India Eden Gardens 137 14 1
Javed Omar Bangladesh 25/05/2007 v. India Shere Bangla National Stadium 80 5 1
Harris, R J Australia 03/12/2010 v. England Adelaide Oval 39 2 1
Sehwag, V India 10/08/2011 v. England Edgbaston 180 16 1
Herath, H M R K B Sri Lanka 16/01/2014 v. Pakistan Sharjah Cricket Stadium 144 23 2
Prasad, K T G D Sri Lanka 03/07/2015 v. Pakistan Pallekele International Cricket Stadium 39 8 2
Anderson, J M* England 16/11/2016 v. India Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy Cricket Stadium 239 30 3
Pradeep, N* Sri Lanka 28/09/2017 v. Pakistan Sheikh Zayed Stadium 50 18 3
Nurul Hasan* Bangladesh 12/07/2018 v. West Indies Sabina Park 9 3 1
Curran, S M* England 12/08/2021 v. India Lord’s 38 7 1


Also Read: – Who Is The Best Cricketer In India?


In conclusion, cricket, as the saying goes, is the great game of small things making big differences. Share your views about it in the comment section provided below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts