Purple Cap 2020 IPL
Purple Cap 2020 IPL

Purple Cap 2020 IPL Holder List | Maximum Wicket Taker in IPL

Purple Cap is a award given to the top wicket getter in IPL season. It can vary from match to match. Starts from the beginning of the season and the one with the leading wickets in the season will be given the reward.

Purple Cap 2020 IPL cannot be shifted from player to player in a match.

It is given once the match is ended.

Purple Cap Interesting Facts

Sohail Tanvir was the first ever purple cap holder who played that season from the team of Rajasthan Royals. He took 22 wickets.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) and Dwayne Bravo (CSK) are the only two bowlers to have the purple cap title twice over the 13 seasons of IPL.

In case if there is a tie in the number of wickets then the one with lower economy rate will be rewarded with the purple cap title.

Let’s have a look at the top 5 leading wicket takers who can possibly hold the purple cap title by the end of the IPL 2020.

Purple Cap 2020 IPL List

Below is the list of top contenders of IPL 2020 purple cap holder.

Here are the names: –

1. Kagiso Rabada

The South African pacer have been in immense form and is playing for Delhi Capital this season.

He have taken 23 wickets in his 12 matches out of 14.

He have bowled 47.4 overs and conceeded 388 runs at an economy rate of 8.13.

2. Mohammad Shami

Indian international pacer is playing for Kings XI Punjab this year.

He have played 12 matches and taken 20 wickets.

He have bowled 36.4 overs in total.

He have given only 395 runs with an economy rate of 8.46.

3. Rashid Khan

Wrist spinner from Afghanistan have managed to take 17 wickets for himself and Sun Risers Hyderabad.

He have bowled total of 48 overs in his 12 matches that he has played and out of which he has given only 240 runs at an average economy of 5.

4. Jofra Archer

England’s fast bolwer is playing for RR have taken 17 wickets.

In his 12 innings he have bowled 47.4 overs with an economy rate of 6.71 and given away 320 runs.

5. Jasprit Bumrah

Indian international bowler is representing MI in IPL have played 11 matches and have taken 17 wickets.

He have bolwed 4 overs in each the match that means with 44 overs bowled he have given 331 runs with 7.52 economy rate.

Other bowlers to look out for are:-

6. Yuzvendra Chahal:- 16 wickets in 11 innings, overs bowled 42, runs given 296. RPO 7.04

7. Trent Boult:- 16 wickets in 11 innings, overs bowled 43.2, runs given 357. Runs per over (RPO) 8.23.

8. Anrich Nortje:- 15 wickets in 11 innings, overs bowled 44 runs given 343. Eco rate 7.79.

9. Rahul Chahar:- 13 wickets in 11 innings, overs bowled 39, runs given 295. RPO 7.56.

10. Sam Curran:- 13 wickets in 12 innings, overs bowled 37, runs given 308. RPO 8.32.

Also Read: – Orange Cap IPL 2020 Holder List | Most Runs in IPL 2020

Final Words

Who will be the Purple Cap 2020 IPL Holder? The main question is this. With dimensions of Purple cap holder changing every single match. Top 2 contenders are not much far from each other and the teams that are below in the points table are winning so it has become really interesting to see who emerges into the list. Another question that arises is that will Rabada be able to hold on to the Purple Cap or will Shami steal the cap from Rabada. For all this drama stay tuned and look for updates after every match.

About Nick Schager 122 Articles
I am Nick Schager, a sports news enthusiast. I love reading and writing in sports-related news. I have written for various sports news portals but now working for Browse Desk and providing the latest sports news which you can browse and enjoy reading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.