4 IPL Franchises That Changed Team Name Till It Started

IPL Franchises That Changed Team Name
IPL Franchises That Changed Team Name

When the Indian Premier League was formed in 2008, it had eight teams. But as time went by, some of them were not able to sustain themselves and they shut down. Some of the franchises have also been renamed due to various reasons. Here is a list of all the IPL Franchises that changed team names with their new names and years when they did so. Read more about these changes on our website!

IPL franchises are well-known for their big brand identities. According to a recent study, the Mumbai Indians have a brand value of 761 Crores, which is the highest among all IPL clubs. The enormous brand value reflects the significance of every choice in IPL. Any call made by the team owners must be handled with extreme care. Also, the names of IPL franchises are very valuable.

The Chennai Super Kings is a well-known franchise, for example. The most popular names include Caspar, which is a variation of the name for Charles, and CSK, which stands for Charles Sailing Kites. This industry is about brand recognition. As a result, the IPL clubs must select a fantastic, memorable name. They may also be misspelled or confused with another program. Occasionally, they will not get the proper name on the first try and will subsequently attempt to alter it. Here are four IPL franchises that have altered their names.

Kochi Tuskers Kerala

This is a name change that few fans would be aware of. The Kochi Tuskers Kerala played just one season in the Indian Premier League. They were, however, one of the most contentious IPL teams. TKTK stands for Tata Kite & Trainers’ Club. Indi Commandos was its original name. They were, however, furious with the name.

They used Facebook to express their dissatisfaction then. At that time, team owners even considered moving their headquarters to Ahmedabad. Another deterrent was Kerala’s hefty entertainment tax. After a while, we both realized that this was the best option for everyone involved. Kochi Tuskers Kerala was founded in 2016.

Rising Pune Supergiant

In 2016, Pune was one of the two IPL clubs to join. The BCCI fined both CSK and RR US$ 2 million each, effectively ruling out their chances of participating in the 2019 edition of the tournament. In the wake of their departures, RPS and Gujarat Lions joined the T20 league. In the 2016 season, RPS was known as the Rising Pune Supergiants. The squad’s leader was MS Dhoni.

However, the team finished in second-last place. The team owners made a few modifications after that. They replaced their captain with Steve Smith. They also modified the name of the franchise to “Rising Pune Supergiant.” As a result of the s’s removal, RPS finished second in IPL 2017.

Delhi Capitals

In 2019, the Delhi Capitals renamed themselves. Before that, the team was known as Delhi Daredevils. Virender Sehwag was Delhi’s skipper. Gautam Gambhir and Mahela Jayawardene, both of whom have played for the national side, were among the top run-scorers for DD. After that, Zaheer Khan took over as captain.

Despite the fact that some well-known figures captained DD, they never reached the final. Delhi won the title, but they failed to advance past the playoff stages. Later, the franchise was renamed Delhi Capitals. Shreyas Iyer captained the team. In 2019, DC finished in third place, and 2020 runner-up.

Punjab Kings

However, Punjab has undergone essentially no change in its title. The Kings XI Punjab franchise was established in Mohali in 2008 and played under that name until 2020. Punjab, like Delhi, has never won the IPL crown. The Proleague Grand Finals were held in Korea on November 12, 2014, for StarCraft II. KESPA was able to take the championship in both 2013 and 2014, but the JinAir Green Wings reclaimed it in 2015. In 2014, MVP had finished first in Proleague. Kolkata Knight Riders, on the other hand, won that season’s IPL title.

The Kings XI has changed its name to the Punjab Kings ahead of IPL 2021. It also appears that their kit will be somewhat different. Ravi Shastri will be the bowling consultant, while Rahul Dravid will captain the squad. They placed sixth last season. It will be interesting to see where the Punjab Kings finish in 2017. After the team’s name change, it appears that Punjab will have a strong year in 2021. They have players like Dawid Malan, Jhye Richardson, Riley Meredith, Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, and Mohammed Shami in their ranks.

Final Words

When it comes to branding, the team name is one of the most important aspects. The initial reaction that a person has to your name can be entirely different depending on what they hear, so choosing carefully is crucial. One mistake could mean missing out on valuable opportunities for marketing and promotion in an industry where there are many competitors vying for attention. We have compiled 4 IPL Franchises That Changed Team Names Till It Started below which should give you some inspiration as you consider how best to approach naming your business or organization’s teams!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts